Meals on Wheels

All that delicious BBQ got me thinking….As I prepare to pick up and move to DC, one of the things that I’m most excited about is all the fab foodie fun waiting for me!!  Even though I grew up in the midwest, I’ve always been an adventurous eater.  I’ve had the opportunity to travel, a lot, and I’ve found that the most delicious food is often found on a street corner.  Street vendors specializing in one or two items, cooking up (and dishing out) their wares day in and day out, rain or shine, become like street corner top chefs.  These chefs have served me awesomely good hot dogs, soft pretzels, crepes, pupusas, guinea pig, coconut juice (straight from the nut), fresh smoothies, and oh so much more!!

Luckily for me, one of the most popular  foodie trends sweeping the US is the food truck…and DC has embraced the food truck with open stomaches.

These food trucks ain’t yo mama’s old run-down ice cream truck winding its way through the neighborhood.  Oh no.  These food trucks offer delectable desserts, gourmet meals, and outrageously creative concoctions all from a mobile truck that travels the city.

lobster rolls at lunch? umyesplease.

The Washingtonian offers a cool interactive map to help District resident keep track of these mobile foodie fantasies.  I cannot wait to try these trucks out!

About DC Chic

I'm a twentysomething young professional moving to DC. I'm interested in lovely little things, fashion, fitness, food and all things chic!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment